Poetry

Happy 2022

I don’t read a lot of poems. It could be because the ones I came across when I was younger had archaic language and I could not relate to them. Recently I had the privilege of reading some of my friend’s poems and I enjoyed them thoroughly.

So as I talked about it to my sister, she was sweet enough to gift me a book which is a compilation of poems – one for each day of the year 😃. I am excited to go through all of them in 2022.

Here is one for 1st Jan

Each morn is New Year’s morn come true,

Morn of a festival to keep.

All nights are sacred nights to make,

Confession and resolve and prayer;

All days are sacred days to wake

New gladness in the sunny air.

Only a night from old to new;

Only a sleep from night to morn.

The new is but the old come true;

Each sunrise sees a new year born.

by Helen Hunt Jackson

One thought on “Happy 2022

Leave a comment